4193 characters and its driving me insane…


This week I have been working at a conference with the Thai Government, I have done a fair bit of teaching and lecturing on emergency response, which involved stressing them out with a simulated exercise – very funny to watch – and doing an hour and a half of speaking… When I was asked to do this I was like I’m 21, just finished my Bsc are you sure? as everyone else has PhD’s but apparently im the only one in the office with experience and the ability to teach… so very happy! The added good point was that I have had a lot of spare time at this conference to write my personal statement..

It started off with 8000 characters and now it’s down to 4193 and it is literally back to the bare bones… I really don’t know what else to take out now, I haven’t even included NHS work experience yet – which isn’t that important/impressive compared to the rest of my experience.. 193 characters is an awkward amount so deleting a lot of words that are descriptive, but not has made my statement sound less exciting/readable… Ahh well, the next step is sending it off to numerous people for them to destroy it, I tend to send it to a wide range of people including: Family, Friends, collegues, careers advisor form university (He is AMAZING!), my lecturer and a few Doctor/Nurses… overall i send it to 10+ people wait for their feedback and then regroup and decide what stays/go’s/gets added in. I really should just campaign that grads get more characters!!

Having worked full time throughout my summers before university, first year and most of my second year of my degree and now I believe it is vital for people to understand what working actually means… I work 50-70 hour weeks at the moment in my job, It is soo tiring some days but i still go out and drink too much/get in too late. My average I’ve worked out this week is 5 hours sleep a night (Completely my fault!) but it’s fine at the moment, However, I know so many kids who are at university/left who have never had a job ever! their CV is blank and they wonder why they can’t get employment… It’s good for people to interact with adults who are senior and learn basic social skills that are vital!

Have a good one!

Also my twitter: http://www.twitter.com/clarkesincse91

One thought on “4193 characters and its driving me insane…

  1. I agree with you about the need to work, whilst at university and I think that for GEM that is what they are looking for – experience in the world of work. I found your blog from TSR. Your going to have great experience for Med.

Leave a Reply

