Personal statement hell…. Back to school for others…


Today I have properly started my personal statement… it’s not going well to say the least.

I took some advice from when i did my personal statement back in 2008 for my first degree and listed everything that I have done that is relevant to studying medicine and why I want to.. It’s too long:

So far I have: 3 Deployments to Haiti in a field hospital and working on a WASH/health project etc (a lot I can put in here), Implementing an EEG clinic in Nepal training docs and nurses/running outreach clinics and Training in the UK from Neurophysiologists, my current job in Thailand with the asian disaster centre and working on public health/emergency response projects, 3.5 years + with the british red cross working in emergency response, Lecturing at Medlink, my awards in A level electronics for designing an ECG Machine and a Pulse ox, Scouting for over 10 years, many (i think about 8-10ish) weeks of generic shadowing docs in the UK and USA (that one was staying with a doc i worked with haiti in and got to watch surgery for a week and be poked my medical students as a dummie), extra curricular activities and my last degree and what I did during that…

So.. to say the least I have my work cut out if i want to include that into 4000 characters, so all you school age people writing theres and saying they are over 4000 characters because of too much stuff, write mine please? anybody?

What isn’t helping is that I work a full time+ job, I have a lot of work to do outside of work as well including speaking at a conference next week that is stressful enough without the added pressure of it being the Thai Government who are a HUGE donor and I am the youngest by a good 10 years speaking there… I never say no to a challenge though šŸ˜‰

Just looking at the date today I realise it is back to school soon and everyone has had their results, some worse than others… However my message is:Ā 

I got shit AS results and decided to do a different route, in all honesty if you have below B’s at AS it is hard to make it up to an A in A2 if you want to have a life outside of school. I had a great time out of school and I do not regret it in anyway. So if you want to do Biology, English, hell even media studies after school for a bit… DO IT! You can get into medicine at a later time, you will be doing it as a career for a long time remember and it’s not all glitz and glam!

Any questions on anything feel free to get in contact šŸ™‚

L

Leave a Reply

